News from Town Office

Candidates Running for Municipal By-Election

Posted On: Thursday, February 28, 2019



Nipawin, Saskatchewan – February 28, 2019


Notice: The Town of Nipawin is pleased to inform the community that Gene Rusk and Laurie Kratochvil have submitted their nomination papers for election as Councillor during the upcoming April 3rd by-election. A formal Notice of Poll will be released shortly informing electors of the times, dates and locations of the various voting opportunities.


A third candidate, Stacey Vik, did submit his nomination papers as required, however, in accordance with section 76 of the Local Government Election Act, 2015, he has since withdrawn his nomination. Mr. Vik met with the Returning Officer shortly before the close of nominations to confirm his eligibility to run for elected office. The Returning Officer confirmed that, under the applicable provisions of the Local Government Election Act, 2015, Mr. Vik was eligible to run. However, the Returning Officer overlooked informing Mr. Vik, who is a long standing and valued member of our local Fire Department, that the Town of Nipawin Fire Department Policy currently prohibits Council members from serving on the Fire Department. Mr. Vik, who has clearly stated his desire to remain as an active Firefighter, decided instead to withdraw from the by-election at this time.


As Returning Officer, I take full responsibility, and extend my sincere apologies to Mr. Vik, for my oversight during our discussion. I also extend my apologies to Town Council and the electors of the Town of Nipawin.


Barry Elliott (Returning Officer)


For further information about this information release, please contact:

Town of Nipawin

Telephone: (306) 862-9866


view the full list of current news